• This topic is locked This topic is locked
78 replies to this topic

#1 chaos-with-honor

chaos-with-honor

I like it on Omicron Ceti III, Jim

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Interests:I am a martial arts instructor, a minister, a peer counselor, and a father of four.<br /><br />7th Dan Black Belt - Bushi-Kai Jukendo-Ryu Karate<br />5th Dan Black Belt - American Kenpo Karate<br />1st Dan Black Belt - Aikido Jiujitsu<br />Instructor's Credits - Five Elements Five Animals Kung Fu<br />Instructor's Credits - Muay Thai Kick Boxing<br />Brown Belt - Judo<br />Brown Belt - Matsukazi-Ryu Jiujitsu<br />Brown Belt - Small Circle Jiujitsu<br />3rd Level practitioner of Dim Mak<br /><br />Amature Wrestler<br />Amature Boxer<br />Amature Kickboxer<br />Amature MMA Fighter

Posted 14 June 2009 - 10:48 PM

At Issue: The addition of the band GWAR into the Pop Culture DB.

Reason for denial: Don't think GWAR has the same sort of "pop culture-ness" the way a band like KISS does. Direct cut and paste there.

My counter arguement:

Any band that sticks around for over twenty years, is still performing live shows with new music, has produced their own comics and movies, as well as having cameos in several movies not produced by themselves, been on television shows, had attendance to one of their concerts be the goal of a video game, and has been in costume on multiple day-time talk shows is amply suitable for admission to the Pop Culture DB. Especially when the characters are as interesting and entertaining as those created by Dave Brockie and co.

Doesn't the fact that someone geeky enough to think that fighting superheroes is cool still had a strong enough conection to the band to want them included in one of their favorite hobbies put a big "Pop Culture" stamp on them all by itself?

The links I set for the band were good.
The band has nearly as large an entry on Wikipedia as Kiss, the band cited by the reviewing admin.
The picture I set for the band was good.